Following the discovery of gold on the east rand, in June of 1894 the Van Ryn Gold Mines Estate Ltd sponsored by the late Sir
George Albu was registered. The property was situated on the farm Vlakfontein. The general manager was German and he had his
office at the homestead on the farm.
By 1897 the farm manager, also a German by the name of Hahn, supervised the planting of trees on a large scale. He laid out the
stretch of wooded park which made the beautiful setting for the Van Ryn Golf Course. The tree planting on the Estate were all under
the supervision of Hahn. He carried on looking after the farm and fenced off areas and established a fine orchard.
Although golf had been played on a rough course on the north side of Kleinfontein Dam in 1903, it was not until 1905 that a club
was formed and a course laid out to the south of the Kleinfontein Gold Company's offices. This club served the district for some years.
The club was finally wound up on the inauguration of the Van Ryn Club in 1911. There was a strong tennis club on the Van Ryn and the
Modder at that time.
The golf course at Van Ryn was laid out in 1911. It was under the leadership of Gilbert Thompson and Bertie Winkfield. These
enthusiasts contributed five shillings each per month for the construction of sand greens and worked on the job themselves. The club
grew in membership and the course situated in the lovely woodland on the Van Ryn Estate has become one of the most popular on the Reef.
The Van Ryan Estate GM Recreation Hall was a wood and iron building situated at No 2 shaft. In early days various sports were played,
snooker, billiards, skittles (popular with the Cornish miners) played on a snooker table and darts. A special room was provided for cards,
bridge, poker and other gambling games. This recreation facility was closed in 1950/ 1951 and the building was knocked down soon afterwards.
Sports played at Van Ryn Estate GM Recreation Club include, athletics, archery, badminton, bowls, croquet, cricket, hockey, soccer,
table tennis (in the ball room) tennis squash and golf.
In 1954 the Mayor Benoni Clr R.H. Howie laid the foundation stone of the Benoni Country Club's new clubhouse. Over the years,
Benoni Country Club has established an outstanding reputation for the sporting and entertaining facilities which it has to offer.
In 1996/7 an upmarket housing development was undertaken around the boundaries of the Club adding to the relaxing atmosphere.
Enjoying the freedom of the course are Impala, Blesbok, Duiker, Black Swans, Sacred Ibis, Egyptian Geese, Plovers and Guinea Fowl
giving golfers a unique experience as they walk along the fairways.